Connect with us


Saraki Removes Ndume as Committee Chair


The travails of immediate-past Senate leader, Ali Ndume, may be far from over as Senate President, Bukola Saraki, yesterday, removed him as chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) committee.

In his place, Saraki announced Chairman of the Committee on Labour, Suleiman Nazif, from Bauchi State.

“For now, there is no committee chairman on INEC. We need to get this job done. Senator Suleiman Nazif should now be the chairman of that committee. You are to report back within two weeks,” Saraki said.

Ndume was removed as Senate leader early January, 2017. He was subsequently suspended as a Senator in March, 2017, following the adoption of a report of the Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions.

Ndume’s suspension is expected to last for six months and has not has not been seen within and around the National Assembly complex since then.

Saraki made the announcement of Ndume’s replacement when the Senate commenced moves to consider 27 names of Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs)

Senate’s consideration of the names of the 27 RECsagainst the backdrop of President Muhammadu Buhari’s refusal to sack acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Mr Ibrahim Magu.

On March 28, Senate urged president Buhari to respect its decision on Magu.

Failure to take heed, the chamber vowed it will not consider or confirm any nominations from the Presidency. Last week, the chamber received nominations of RECs from the Executive, amid fears Senate would stand its ground and refuse to work on the request.

Adopting a motion sponsored by Peter Nwaoboshi, Senate had directed Saraki to, within two weeks, convey its position about non-replacement of Magu to Buhari and report back, to allow it take further legislative action on the matter.

As at the time of filing this report, Saraki was yet to officially brief his colleagues on the outcome of his meeting with Buhari, on Magu’s stay in office as EFCC boss.

Regardless, names of the 27 REC nominees are: Prof. Godswill Obioma (Abia), Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa), Alhaji Ahmad Makama (Bauchi), James Apam (Benue), Mr. Mike Igini (Delta), Dr. Nkwachukwu Orji ( Ebonyi), Dr. Illoh Chuks (Enugu), Hussaini Pai (FCT), Sadiq Musa (Kaduna), Jibrin Zarewa (Kano), Dr. (Mrs) and Asmau Maikudi (Katsina).

Others are Dr. Mahmuda Isah (Kebbi), Prof. Samuel Egwu (Kogi), Amb. Rufus Akeju (Lagos), Prof. Mustapha Zubairu (Niger), Agboke Olaleke (Ogun), Sam Olumekun (Ondo), AbdulGaniyu Taju (Oyo), Prof. Riskuwa Shehu (Sokoto), Mr. Kasim Geidam (Yobe), Ahmad Mahmud (Zamfara), Dr. Nentawe Yilwatda (Plateau), Umar Ibrahim (Taraba), Prof. Francis Ezeonu (Anambra), Mr. Emeka Joseph (Imo), Obo. O. Effanga (Cross River) and Dr. Briyai Frankland (Baylesa).

For adverts, sponsored articles and promotions, send a WhatsApp message to +234 908 608 0999, or send mail to: